Main LibraryBaltimore BranchBremen Rushcreek Memorial BranchJohns Memorial BranchNorthwest BranchWalnut Township Library StationMobile Services
Home
Reference Sources
Branches
Your Library
Support the Library
What's New
What's Happening
Our Community
Booker's Club for Kids
TeenScape
Teachers' Resources
Contact Us
Site Map
Main Library
219 N. Broad Street
Lancaster, OH  43130

Phone:
(740) 653-2745
TTY:
(740) 653-8282

Hours:
Mon - Thurs
9am - 9pm
Fri - Sat
9am - 5pm
Sun
1pm - 5pm
New DVDs & music...
New DVDs & music.
Award winning books, bestsellers and monthly booklists...
Award winning books, bestsellers and monthly booklists.
Read books in your email...
Online Book Clubs

Reference Databases


Many of the Library's Reference Tools are available from your home or office computer. The databases below marked with a This item is only available from Library computers icon are only available at computer workstations located inside Library facilities. All others can be accessed remotely from outside the Library.

Choose your area of interest:

Or OneSearch will search many databases simultaneously.

Note:  If you are unable to access any database that is available from your home computer  (does not have the In library use only icon icon) you may need to enable cookies or change the privacy controls of your computer's firewall.

Magazines, Journals, & Newspapers

   

EBSCOHost Magazine, Newspaper and Health Information
Magazine, Newspaper, Health & Academic Information

    Kids Search Magazines, Newspapers and the Encyclopedia
Magazines, Newspapers and the Encyclopedia


News Bank Search America's Newspapers
Search America's Newspapers
    Searchasaurus Magazine and Encyclopedia database for Children
Magazine and Encyclopedia
database for Children
   

Student Research Center Country information, radio scripts,
video, magazines & newspapers
Country information, radio scripts,
video, magazines & newspapers.
Searches can be limited by reading level.

    top

General References



Encyclopedia Britannica Text of the Britannica print encyclopedia and more
Text of the Encyclopedia Britannica
Includes a blog and daily world news
    Britannica Online School Edition Special features for teachers
          and students
Special features for teachers
and students
    Britannica Learning Zone Interactive atlas, games
            and learning materials
Interactive atlas, games
and learning materials
    Enciclopedia Universal en Espanol
Explore la Enciclopedia Universal en Español


World Book Encyclopedia and learning resources
World Book Encyclopedia
and learning resources


Librarians' Index of useful Internet sites
Librarians' Index of useful Internet sites
    Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary
Dictionary, Thesaurus,
Spanish-English & Medical terms


Ohio Public Libraries Information Network Includes research databases & Ohio information
Ohio Public Libraries Information Network
Includes research databases & Ohio information
    Oxford Reference Online Language and subject dictionaries, maps and timelines
Language and subject dictionaries,
maps and timelines
    top

Art



    top

Auto Repair


This item is only available from Library computers
ALLDATA Pro
The comprehensive source of
auto diagnostic and repair information
    top

Biography

    American National Biography
American National Biography


Biographical information on more than 150,000 individuals
Biographical information on notable
persons from around the world
and throughout history

    Biographies Plus Illustrated
Biographies of historical and
current persons from around the world
    top

Businesses

    Business Source Premier
Full text coverage of all categories of business

This item is only available from Library computers Company Information
Company Information
(Library computers only)
    top

Education



CollegeSource College catalogs and profiles
College catalogs and profiles


Free Application For Federal Student Aid
Free Application For Federal Student Aid


Interactive Online Practice Tests for Academic and Licensing Exams
Interactive Online Practice Tests
for Academic and Licensing Exams
    top

Genealogy


This item is only available from Library computers
Ancestry Library Edition census, birth, death, marriage and other records
Census, birth, death, marriage and other records
    top

Geography


Facts on File World Atlas
Facts on File World Atlas
Includes maps of world countries, U.S. states, Canadian provinces, regional geographic and thematic maps.
    World Data Analyst
Encyclopedia Britannica database of
country comparisons and statistics
    top

Government


This item is only available from Library computers
Legislative Information
Legislative Information
    top

Health

    Consumer Health Complete
Resource for consumer-oriented health content
    EbscoHost Medical Databases Spanish
Información general importante en relación
a enfermedades, afecciones
y procedimientos de diversos tratamientos
    EbscoHost Medical Databases
Research database for nursing
and medical information


Consumer Health Information
Consumer Health Information
    top

History

    Annals of American History
Explore U.S. history through speeches,
memoirs, poems, images & multimedia
    Ohio History Central Online Encyclopedia
Ohio History Central Online Encyclopedia


OHS Databases, including military rosters and death certificate indexes
OHS Databases, including military rosters
and death certificate indexes

    Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps 1867-1970, Ohio
Maps from 1867-1970, Ohio
    top

Languages

    Mango Languages offers electronic step-by-step instruction in 12 different languages
Offers electronic step-by-step instruction in 12 different languages
    top

Literature



American and English Literature: Full-Text Collections
American and English Literature: Full-Text Collections
    Complete resource package on authors and their works
Complete resource package on
authors and their works


Reader's Advisory Resource
Discover what to read next.
Search by author, title or plot
    NoveList K-8
Find a variety of great books to read listed by school subject.
Contains much information including lexile reading ranges
    top

Movies



Internet Movie Database
Internet Movie Database
    top

Science



AccessScience Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Online
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of
Science & Technology
    Some features of Access Science may not be available on your home computer; all features are available from Library computers.
    top